Southern Pacific

Nos. 1 and 2 (New Orleans-Los Angeles)

Sunset Amtrak operated

Nos. 11 and 12 (Portland, Oregon-Oakland, California)

Cascade Amtrak operated

Nos. 51 and 52 (Oakland-Los Angeles)

San Joaquin Daylight  Discontinued

Nos. 53 and 54 (Sacramento-Tracy, California)

Sacramento Daylight Discontinued

Nos. 98 and 99 (San Francisco-Los Angeles)

Coast Daylight Amtrak operated

Nos. 101 and 102 (Oakland-Ogden, Utah)

City of San Francisco Amtrak operated

Nos. 126 and 141 (San Francisco-Monterey, California)

Del Monte Discontinued



The Sunset operated tri-weekly, departing New Orleans on Monday, Wednesday and Friday; and departing Los Angeles on Tuesday, Friday and Sunday.

The Cascade operated tri-weekly, departing Portland on Monday, Thursday and Saturday; and departing Oakland on Sunday, Wednesday and Friday. Amtrak combined the Cascade and Coast Daylight to form a tri-weekly Seattle-San Diego route. Operating as Nos. 11 and 12, it departed Seattle on Monday, Thursday and Saturday; and departed San Diego on Sunday, Wednesday and Friday. The Coast Daylight, which had been a daily train, operated quad-weekly between Oakland and Los Angeles on the days that Nos. 11 and 12 did not operate.

The San Joaquin Daylight operated via Fresno and Bakersfield. Nos. 53 and 54 were Sacramento trains that operated combined with the San Joaquin Daylight between Tracy and Los Angeles.

The City of San Francisco operated tri-weekly, departing both Ogden and Oakland on Monday, Thursday and Saturday. It was of a Chicago-Oakland route that also included the Milwaukee Road and Union Pacific). Under Amtrak, the Chicago-Oakland train operated via Burlington Northern between Chicago and Denver.

%d bloggers like this: