Losing a Locomotive Along the Way

amtrak-blog-4

This is not a photograph that I would have been able to get under ordinary circumstances.

The eastbound Capitol Limited in arriving in Pittsburgh in broad daylight. Had the train been on-time or even close to its schedule, it would have halted in Penn Station in the darkness and before I got there.

But something happened to No. 30 along the way and it arrived in Pittsburgh with just one locomotive. It is Feb. 19, 2005.

No. 30 departed Chicago the previous evening on time. I know because I was in Chicago Union Station waiting to board the Three Rivers to Pittsburgh.

In those days the Three Rivers was the last train of the day out of Chicago. I was riding the Three Rivers to Pittsburgh because it was slated to be discontinued in another month.

A friend and I had ridden to Chicago from Cleveland on the Lake Shore Limited and we would take Greyhound home.

But it would be awhile before the bus left so we had time to kill. I had noticed an unusually large number of passengers sitting in the Pittsburgh station. I no longer remember how we learned that No. 30 had yet to arrive.

But we found out and I was able to get this image of the Capitol Limited arriving.

It wasn’t funny to the passengers riding No. 30 on this day, but my friend and I were amused that we had departed Chicago hours after No. 30 left and arrived in Pittsburgh an hour or two before it got there.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

